#PinWin – Tuna & Chicken Stuffed Avocado

We all do it – when we’re browsing Pinterest, we’re unstoppable, and every creative idea seems easy, every recipe so simple & perfect. We pin what we love, and say to ourselves “Oh, I’ll definitely be back to try this later!” Sometimes we do come back, only to end up distraught at the outcome – what was supposed to be yummy/beautiful/easy, actually turned out gross/ugly/hard – and we fall victim to the inevitable #PinterestFail.

Then there’s the pins that, despite our best intentions, we totally forget about and they get buried in the hundreds of other pins that we have long forgotten, sitting overlooked for months – that’s where I pulled this beauty from. It’s one of those things that you put off forever, and once you do it, you wonder “Why didn’t I do this sooner?! I will now have to do it all the time!!!”

Clearly, I’m not someone who will be posting many tutorials. I managed a grand total of two pictures from this adventure:

IMG_2468

So colourful!

IMG_2472

Finished product! #nomnom

I’m so glad I pulled this recipe out for dinner the other day, even though we didn’t have all of the necessary ingredients. I don’t usually follow a recipe exactly anyways, so I thought I’d just wing it, and had to leave out the red onion, cucumber, yogurt, dijon mustard, lemon juice, and sweetener. I subbed in: fake dairy-free greek yogurt (coconut base), lime juice, red pepper, orange pepper, and a ton of ground cracked black peppercorns. At this point you’re probably wondering what the point of the recipe was at all? My husband’s sentiment exactly. But whatevs, live & learn.

The moral of this story was: we loved it! It definitely need the lemon juice, not lime (and this from someone who prefers lime!), but overall we agreed that it is worth making again. I’ll be adding it into the rotation of no-cook summer meals for sure, and I loved that it can be made ahead AND doesn’t use the oven! Now for winter to let go & let summer in…

Bon appetit!

2 thoughts on “#PinWin – Tuna & Chicken Stuffed Avocado

  1. Gerald says:

    Good on you for experimenting! Guy always says “if you like it enjoy it, if you don’t, be grateful because it won’t be the same next time”. Good luck with that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

