Infamous Banana Bread Recipe


This one is one of our classic “make again” treats, and hands-down the most requested food that I make; it has also been referred to as “THE” banana bread. I picked this recipe up somewhere along my learning to cook journey, and have tweaked it over time to be more or less a no-fail, no muss, no fuss kind of experience. For the loaf in these pictures I actually forgot to add an egg, and it still turned out (though I KNEW something was missing and couldn’t remember what – it’s better with an egg!). The original copy of this recipe was printed ages ago & is long lost; the last time I can remember seeing it was my late teens, so this beauty is always from memory, and always delicious!

INFAMOUS BANANA BREAD

  • 3 or 4 mashed, ripe bananas (the original recipe calls for 3, it’s better with 4)
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract (but really let’s be honest, I pour generously & don’t even pretend I’m measuring. When you think there’s enough, add another splash!)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour (I’ve used all purpose, cake & pastry, & brown, and a combination of all of the above – it’s whatever flour you prefer, or happen to have enough of in the cupboard if you decide at 2am that banana bread needs to be made, and needs to be made NOW!)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • optional: 1 cup of whatever you love in your banana bread. Chocolate chips? Nuts? Caramel chips? Diced cherries? Your imagination & taste buds are the limit! I’d love to know what you love to add – make sure to share in the comments if you try it with this option!

Notes:
I’ve made this dairy-free by using a dairy-free butter alternative. The one I use is soy-free too, if that’s your thing.
I’ve also made this vegan by using the same dairy/soy-free butter, and a flax egg. To make a flax egg, mix 1 tbsp ground flax seed & 3 tbsp boiled water, let sit ~5 min until it’s “egg consistency.” As if flax seed could ever be egg consistency. Really, it can’t. Just pretend, and go with it.

The original recipe said to mix wet ingredients in one bowl, dry ingredients in the other, mix, pour into greased pan, and bake. That’s just way too many dirty dishes for me. I pour it all into my Kitchenaid, and once it’s mixed I put it in the dish to bake. If you’re using a regular loaf pan (like the original recipe said to) it needs to be greased, then bake at 350 for 1 hour or until knife/toothpick/other sharp narrow object of your choosing comes out clean. Other alternatives I’ve used:

  • Epicure’s mini silicone loaf pans: don’t need to be greased, bake for 45 min
  • Regular size silicone muffin liners: don’t need to be greased, bake for 30-35 min
  • Mini muffin tin with paper liners: don’t need to be greased, bake for 20-25 min


Since going dairy & soy-free I have so few guilty pleasures left, but one of them is banana bread with chocolate spread on it. This is supposed to be the vegan/soy-free/nut-free response to Nutella, but let me tell you it is NOT. It tastes more like butter with cocoa mixed in, which is perfect when you can’t add regular butter on top. 

Serve warm with your favourite coffee or tea right after the baby goes to bed & prepare for a moment of pure bliss. Bon appétit!

Did you try this recipe? I’d love to hear what you think in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

