Sunday Lately (Week 87)

Sunday Lately with Blogger Tribe

It has been a busy, weird, and wonderful last couple of months, but with Labour Day around the corner and school starting this Tuesday (or already started, depending on where you live) I’ve come to realise that summer really is coming to a close, and it’s time to jump back into a regular fall/winter routine. With that in mind, I’m really looking forward to making this series, Sunday Lately, a regular part of my blogging routine for the next few months. I’m sure there will be weeks off here or there, but I’ve enjoyed reading everyone else’s Sunday Lately posts the last few weeks and decided it’s time to jump in myself!

It works like this: every week we’re given prompts, and we respond to them on our blogs, then join the linkup that you can find on any of the Blogger Tribe leaders’ blogs (Katy, Angelica, Meaghan, and Nicole). Then we all e-hang out every Sunday, sharing that small glimpse into the last week of life in our own worlds, and reading about everyone else’s.

This week’s prompts are: Doing, Appreciating, Designing, Humming, Expecting.

Doing

The last 2 months I haven’t blogged at all, and honestly every time I thought about how something would make a great post, and that I really should be posting more, I felt totally and completely liberated by the idea that this blog is personal rather than business, and I started it for fun. That means each and every time I found myself worrying that nothing had been published, I remembered that actually, I don’t have to publish anything – so I decided to relax and enjoy time with family and friends while the beautiful weather is still here. But of course I’m not the type to sit back and do nothing at all, that’s taking it just a lii-iittle too far for my taste. My compromise was to participate in the photo-a-day challenge hosted by Blogger Tribe on Instagram. If you haven’t been following along, check it out here – it’s been a fun month of photos, and again because it’s just for fun, I didn’t panic when I missed a day here or there.

Appreciating

Hands-down my favourite part of summer/Marc going back to work after his paternity leave ended at the beginning of June has been weekends. We’ve relaxed, we’ve gone on adventures, visited with family, participated in local festivals, visited farmer’s markets, played at splash pads, and picnicked in parks. Sunday mornings, though, are the best of all – after busy Saturdays of housework and adventures, but before we head out to church, Sunday mornings are when we take it slow. Baby Rydz usually has us up by 6am, but there’s no rush to shower, dress, eat, and get out the door – it’s lazy times spent on the couch, enjoying a hot coffee together, watching our kidlet play and having the chance to just be our little family of 3. This is when I started reading so many of the Sunday Lately posts – relaxing blogging for a relaxing morning, it almost feels like going to the spa! Almost.

Designing

Usually, this would be nothing, because designing is really not my thing. But conveniently enough, my sewing machine has been broken, and rather than replacing it & being indoors sewing all summer, I’ve just let it go/put off buying a new one. Probably also because it will be expensive. So instead, I’ve been ordering/hoarding fabric, and while waiting for it to arrive I’ve been sketching out all of the things I’m going to make. Just please remember to take the terms “designing” and “sketching” very liberally in my world, since most kindergardeners would be embarassed for my stick people. There’s no false humility here, trust me – I’m really good at a lot of things, but I totally missed the boat on the drawing gene!

Humming

The Hairspray Soundtrack! In case you didn’t already know, I’m a huge fan of musicals. Like, HUGE. I’m that nerd who wept during “Defying Gravity” when I saw it on Broadway. It. Was. TRAGIC!!! Yep. Anyhow…I was also a big fan of Hairspray well before the movie existed, but I’m not going to lie – I really like the movie too! The top 3 that have been on repeat in my head (and my phone) are “Without Love,” “Run And Tell That,” and “(I Know) Where I’ve Been” – BLM of the 60s, anyone? Baby Rydz is loving Hairspray too, it’s become his bath time soundtrack. Some days he gets so into it that we both end up soaking wet!

Expecting

Cooler weather to move in soon. Last year we were hit with an indian summer and Baby Rydz was actually born in the middle of a crazy heat wave, but this year I’m really hoping for fall to arrive soon. Summer is (don’t hate me!) my least favourite season, and if I had to choose, I’d rather skip it completely. Yep, I know, I’m weird. But I’m also done with the heat & ready for comfy fall styles, pumpkin spice lattes, and the end of this brutal humidity. Fall is possibly the happiest time of year for me – while everyone else laments going back to school and the cooler weather, I thrive in this return to routine with my love of hoodies and skinny jeans. I have a few things to sew up first, but then I’ll definitely be ready to put this summer behind us!

So what are you up to today?

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Lately (Week 87)

Leave a Reply

