Sunday Lately (Week 88)

New to Sunday Lately? It works like this: every week there are prompts from the Blogger Tribe (led by Katy, Angelica, Meaghan, and Nicole) to describe what is happening in your life. Then you join the linkup and we e-hang out every Sunday, sharing that small glimpse into everyone else’s corner of the world. Trust me, it’s really fun.

This week’s prompts are: Creating, Finding, Switching, Forgetting, and Craving.

Creating

I’ve been on the hunt for a dolman shirt that won’t become too boxy when I use a thicker, more solid cotton/lycra to make it. Ages ago I bought some custom knit material that is gorgeous, with the dream of making it into a dolman, before I ever had the exact pattern in mind. Now it’s months later, and I have the actual material in hand…but no pattern! On Thursday I put out a call in one of my go-to Facebook groups for sewing, and the feedback I got was overwhelming – I had no idea so many women were so passionate about their dolman-style tops! In the end I chose the Weekender Tunic (aff) from 5 out of 4 Patterns, and I have to say that I am just pleased as punch! So pleased, in fact, that I made another one to wear to church today. It is everything that I wanted in a dolman pattern, and even though I know & love this company, I had completely overlooked it/would have missed it without someone’s suggestion (so thank-you, you know who you are!) Here’s my muslin (with & without the belt), what do you think?

Finding

New shows on Netflix! Has anyone else watched When Calls The Heart?! It’s dorky, and I love every second of it. In 3 days, I’m already on episode 6. Watching while I’m pumping, taping & cutting patterns, & cutting fabric. I just keep finding reasons to watch, even if I don’t need one.

Switching

Switching gears into fall mode: on Monday I had my first committee meeting for a fall/winter activity, which officially means that fall activities are nearing full swing! The nights are cold, the pumpkin spice syrup is flowing, and the slippers have come out – I am more than ready for the return to routine and the seasons that I love.

Forgetting

Speaking of fall activities, I forgot to register my son for his swimming lessons. Yikes! When it comes to activity registration with the city, there’s usually drama of some sort, and parents wait online an hour or so before registration opens just to make sure that they get a “good” time slot. And registration opened on August 8th. Whoops! On the bright side, we like to sign up for the French lessons, and since we live on the mostly English end of town, there were still 8 spots available for our preferred time slot. Thank God we like to buck the trend on this one – consider him registered, and adorable Duck-level pictures will follow (or, should I say, <<les photos du niveau canard>>)!

Craving

Dairy. Every. Little. Thing. Dairy! Seriously though, this week I’ve wanted chocolate, Nutella, a big cold glass of milk, Kraft Dinner, croissants, lasagna, yogurt, ice cream, and cheese to go with my apple – all things that I haven’t had in almost 9 months (we had to suddenly cut dairy out of my diet at 3 months postpartum, so it has been a looooooooong 9 months). #BabyRydz has almost fully re-introduced dairy into his diet, and when he does then I will be free to eat it too! I *might* have already binged yesterday at family brunch, though, so we’re praying that he actually takes it well, or else we will be in for a fairly awful rest of our long weekend. But OH. MY. WORD. Those croissants were worth it! And the chocolate chips melted on them. And the cheese on my egg. I think you get the idea…

Have a blog? Don’t forget to share your Sunday Lately post in the linkup too!

Sunday Lately with Blogger Tribe
5 thoughts on “Sunday Lately (Week 88)

    • Mar Rydz says:

      Thanks! Haha a dolman is a shirt that does not have set-in sleeves – they’re part of the front & back pattern pieces, and are often wide (think of those “bat-like” sleeves).

      Like

Leave a Reply

