Pattern Testing: Women’s Camilla Cowl

Hey there world! It’s been a long time since I last posted (you know, for my 3 loyal fans) but so much has happened in our little family over the last 6 months! This past week I was busy helping Jessica over at 5 Out Of 4 Patterns test the maternity version of the women’s Camilla Cowl (In case you missed it on Facebook & Instagram, yes I’m pregnant & not just getting fat!).

I’ve been through a few pattern tests now, and every time I’m selected to participate it’s always such an honour. I feel like especially because I’ve tested for this company before, it would be so easy for her to say “Meh, I want someone new.” Or “Meh, she didn’t really help much last time.” But for some reason she keeps picking me, and it’s always a week of fun, excitement, and stress all jumbled together. My son was VERY excited that mommy was always taping so many pieces of paper together, he even learned how to say his own version of the word “ruban” & took great pride in passing me each piece. Pattern testing is now a full family affair!

I was skeptical of this test at first, because I thought that I wouldn’t love this shirt as much as my other 5oo4 patterns. Cowl necklines aren’t usually very forgiving for my body type, and bending over chasing #BabyRydz around can take them from a PG to an R rating pretty quickly. It’s not exactly my ideal for the lineup of play dates, play groups, and doctor’s appointments that we have scheduled over the next few months. Jessica surprised me, though, by finding a great balance between drapey cowl & cleavage covered, so I’m thrilled.

5oo4_WomensCamilla_M_Maternity_Maryam_02

The options in this pattern are endless and at first I was overwhelmed, but in the end I chose:

  • shirt length,
  • elbow length sleeves: because even though there was a snow storm this weekend, there WILL be spring weather soon! I wanted something different from the usual 3/4 or short sleeve options that most patterns have, and I’m about the temperature of a sauna at this point in the pregnancy so long sleeves are a no-go,
  • banded sleeves AND bottom, to avoid hemming (Yep, that’s right: NO HEMMING!!! ALLLLLLL the love for a pattern that doesn’t make me hem!)
  • maternity ruching: this one seems pretty obvious, but I’m thrilled that there’s enough room for me to keep growing – it should fit right to my due date. Check out that gorgeous ruching:

5oo4_WomensCamilla_M_Maternity_Maryam_01

I originally planned on making a shirt that would be a nice match to my casual boot cut maternity jeans. In the end I was surprised to find that I made a really versatile shirt that paired nicely with khakis for church, and will work with most of my skirts too.

And how much do you love this floral?! I’ve had my eye on the Knottingley print for a while over at Water Tower Textiles Canada, and when they asked if I would be willing to sew up a sample of the new rayon/spandex that’s stocked for the summer, I knew exactly which one I wanted! The cream background is a touch sheer, because the fabric is so lightweight, but I like to layer tanks & camisoles under most of my shirts anyways so I didn’t mind. Really, it’s a small price to pay for such a gorgeous summer weight fabric, and I’m assured that the darker backgrounds aren’t nearly as sheer (if at all).

 

5oo4_WomensCamilla_M_Maternity_Maryam_125oo4_WomensCamilla_M_Maternity_Maryam_13

The moment of truth for this shirt was when I came home & decided that I wanted to wear comfy lounge clothes the rest of my Sunday afternoon. What did I change into? Well, leggings and slippers of course…but the shirt was too comfy to switch, so it stayed on for the rest of the day! The next morning, I stared at it sitting on top of the dirty laundry basket & debated long & hard if I could get away with wearing it for a second day. Would anyone notice?! I mean, did Instagram it the day before. And share it on Facebook. But was I going to see anyone who saw the posts?!

5oo4_WomensCamilla_M_Maternity_Maryam_045oo4_WomensCamilla_M_Maternity_Maryam_15

In the end, I decided it was wise to leave the shirt in the laundry, and make myself another one instead. Once the next shirt is done, I’ll probably get to work trying to piece together the scraps of this Knottingley into a pair of maternity undies. Seriously, the fabric is that comfortable!

Looking for the pattern? Find the Camilla Cowl here: https://5outof4.com/product/camilla-cowl-neck-top-dress/?affiliates=49

Looking for the fabric? Find the Knottingley rayon/spandex in cream here: http://watertowertextiles.ca/product/knottingley-rayon-spandex-watercolour-cream/

One thought on “Pattern Testing: Women’s Camilla Cowl

Leave a Reply

