Back to Blogging

It’s that time of year when everyone who’s anyone in the mommy blogging world is talking about back to school – the shopping, the organizing, the tips & tricks to sending your firstborn off in the least traumatic way possible & *finally* getting a chance to pee by yourself at least once a day. Some have older kids, or no kids at all, and they’re talking about all things fall: pumpkin spice, apple picking, how to wear plaid like you actually love it year-round & not just when you get to wear skinny jeans & riding boots.

The underlying theme of it all is renewal and, if you’re a fellow Canadian, gratitude (because lets face it, Thanksgiving is better when it’s about thanks, and not about a Christmas parade). A fresh start for a fresh season – hope & anticipation as we move forward from a permanent state of vacation to feeling like we have a purpose other than wanting to spend every waking minute outdoors (BAHAHAHA ok so all of you may want to be outside, but summer & I have a truce: I stay inside as much as possible & it promises to not be around for very long…).

A lot has happened in our little family over the last year since I last “seriously” (“regularly”?!) blogged. Exhibit A: #BabyRydz2Point0

But one of my goals for the upcoming season of my life is to return to blogging more often. I’m not committing to a rigid schedule, because life, but more often than every 6 months is a good place to start. It’s something that I like to do, and I want to be more intentional about doing it, if not for my 3 fans but for me. My 3 fans can hold me accountable though…

So let’s talk about fall. When it comes to favourite seasons, I’m that weirdo friend that everyone has. You know, the one who complains when the mercury hits above 20C & claims Winter as their favourite over all others. Yeah, that friend. You think you don’t have one? Think again, they’re hiding somewhere.

Fall, as the precursor to winter, is my second favourite season. It doesn’t usually last long here, and in recent memory there have been years where there didn’t seem to be one at all, but to me fall brings with it all that everyone else loves best, topped with a huge helping of relief. I’m just physically & mentally relieved to not be suffering through the summer heat. To be back in my favourite jeans, a sweater, and Bogs because they are FINALLY appropriate attire again. *sigh* I’m relieved to have a “regular” weekly schedule and that we’re not packing as much as we can into each weekend.

I’ve already started sewing pieces for our family’s fall & winter wardrobe, including a slouchy beanie & a new car seat cape for #BigBrotherRydz – how cute is he all grown up now?!

He’s also full of beans & had croup AND a cold this past week, so taking pictures was more than a little challenging.

What’s your favourite thing about fall? Any traditional family plans? Let me know in the comments below, and maybe we will add them to our fall schedule too!

2 thoughts on “Back to Blogging

Leave a Reply

