The perfect nursing hacked hoodie

It’s here!!! After 5 straight days of over 31C (40C+ with the humidity!), our fall weather has finally arrived, and I for one could not be any more relieved! To keep myself preoccupied & to help hold onto the hope that fall & winter are actually coming to stay, I’ve been going through my closet on the hunt for cold weather nursing clothes. Last week I found this hoodie that I made & photographed 2 years ago with baby #1.

The original pattern is a women’s Henley that I modified to have nursing access. Some parts need to be repaired & altered before it can be worn again this year, so it’s out of commission for now. It was always the plan to make another, but spring came early that year & there wasn’t much point.

After closer inspection and another fit check (since it was intended to be a wearable muslin), I tweaked my approach to come up with this year’s design for muslin #2.

Both the inner & outer front panels changed significantly for this version, and even though it’s comfortable & I love wearing it (likely because this fabric is divine & I’m in love with the basic, crisp colour combination), there will be more changes made to version 3.

I’m thinking that I will be most happy with the outer layer from #1 and the inner layer from #2. Hopefully the third version will be faster than 2 years in the making! In the meantime, version 2 was perfect for today’s cool weather – a quick run over to Sewing a Rae of Sunshine to help with some “office” work (in my lounge pants too, because morning) & our afternoon family walk.

My only regret is that these photos do not do this green justice no matter how I edit them – it is gorgeous in person.

Yes, I take my coffee (or tea or water) on family walks…don’t you?!

Pattern:

Patterns for Pirates Women’s Henley

Fabric:

Bamboo Stretch French Terry in Olive

Black 10oz Cotton/Lycra

*fabric from 2 yrs ago no longer available

2 thoughts on “The perfect nursing hacked hoodie

Leave a Reply

